Saturday, February 21, 2015

Evernham, Martin Head 2016 NASCAR HOF Nominees

Five first-time nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame were announced yesterday, headlined by former championship crew chief Ray Evernham, champion driver Alan Kulwicki, drivers Mark Martin and Herscel McGriff and crew chief Harry Hyde.

The complete list of 20 nominees includes:

Buddy Baker, 19-time NASCAR premier series winner, including the Daytona 500 and Southern 500
Red Byron, first NASCAR premier series champion, in 1949
Richard Childress, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR's three national series
Jerry Cook, six-time NASCAR Modified champion
Ray Evernham, three-time NASCAR premier series championship crew chief
Ray Fox, legendary engine builder and owner of cars driven by Buck Baker, Junior Johnson and others
Rick Hendrick, 14-time car owner champion in NASCAR's three national series
Harry Hyde, 1970 NASCAR premier series championship crew chief
Bobby Isaac, 1970 NASCAR premier series champion
Alan Kulwicki, 1992 NASCAR premier series champion
Terry Labonte, two-time NASCAR premier series champion
Mark Martin, 96-time race winner in NASCAR national series competition
Hershel McGriff, 1986 NASCAR west series champion
Raymond Parks, NASCAR's first champion car owner
Benny Parsons, 1973 NASCAR premier series champion
Larry Phillips, only five-time NASCAR weekly series national champion
O. Bruton Smith, builder of Charlotte Motor Speedway and architect of Speedway Motorsports Inc.
Mike Stefanik, winner of record-tying nine NASCAR championships
Curtis Turner, early personality, called the "Babe Ruth of stock car racing"
Robert Yates, won NASCAR premier series championship as both an engine builder and owner

NASCAR also announced the five nominees for its annual Landmark Award, including…

Harold Brasington, founder of Darlington Speedway
H. Clay Earles, founder of Martinsville Speedway
Raymond Parks, NASCAR's first champion car owner
Ralph Seagraves, formed groundbreaking Winston-NASCAR partnership as executive with R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company

Ken Squier, legendary radio and television broadcaster; inaugural winner and namesake of the Squier-Hall Award for NASCAR Media Excellence


  1. Anonymous4:33 PM

    What a Star Studded List I do not envy the voting panel. I hope Benny Parsons makes it this year

  2. Anonymous9:49 PM

    I would not be a NASCAR fan today if not for Ned Jarrett, Benny Parsons and Buddy Baker. It makes me sad to see Benny's name getting further and further from the top of the list. Every person on that list is deserving, no question, but as time goes on, the push to put one of the greatest personalities of this sport is eroding. It would have been my wish to see Ned and Benny go in together. But if he couldn't go in with Ned, it would be nice to see him go in with Buddy Baker this voting year.

    1. Benny is not "getting further and further from the top of the list." They are listed in alphabetical order.

    2. Anonymous5:38 AM

      Thanks for clearing that up...I see it now that I look back at it. I thought I heard on your show after last years vote that Benny was close.I really hope to see Benny find his way in this year.

  3. Anonymous7:54 PM

    Wow, what a line-up.