Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Busch Named Indy 500 Rookie Of The Year

Kurt Busch has been named winner of the 2014 Sunoco Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year Award for his performance during the 98th Running of the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race on Sunday at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

In the first Verizon IndyCar Series race of his career, Busch, in his No. 26 Andretti Autosport Suretone Honda, was the fastest qualifier (12th) and highest finisher (6th) among the seven rookies in this year's Indianapolis 500.
As Sunoco Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year, Busch earned a $25,000 bonus from Sunoco as part of his total race winnings of $423,889. Busch was presented with his award last night at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway during the Indianapolis 500 Victory Awards Celebration presented by Ice Miller Legal Counsel, Contour Hardening, Inc. and Allied Solutions.

Since its inception in 1952, the Sunoco Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year Award has been presented to an amazing list of legendary drivers including Parnelli Jones, Mario Andretti, Rick Mears, Tony Stewart, Jim Clark, Jackie Stewart, Arie Luyendyk and many more.

The Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award electorate is comprised of Indianapolis Motor Speedway and INDYCAR officials, and members of the media. 

1 comment:

  1. Anonymous10:12 PM

    What an amazing accomplishment. Never ran an open wheel car, qualifies better than most of the field, finishes sixth as a rookie, what that shows me yet again is this is a man with tremendous talent His accomplishment was overshadowed most of the day on MRN by people who wanted to talk about Happy dissing his crew yet again. How sad for NASCAR that the fan base doesn't recognize this accomplishment for what it is.