Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Hillenburg Honored By NMPA

Rockingham's Andy Hillenburg
The National Motorsports Press Association has selected Rockingham Speedway President Andy Hillenburg as the second quarter winner of its NMPA Speedway Motorsports Spirit Award.

The award is designed to recognize character and achievement in the face of adversity, sportsmanship and contributions to motorsports. Quarterly winners are selected each year, with an overall winner determined by a vote of the National Motorsports Press Association membership.
Hillenburg was selected for his efforts to return Rockingham Speedway to prominence. He bought the track at auction in October 2007 and in April of this year hosted NASCAR’s return to the legendary North Carolina track for the first time since 2004.
Also receiving votes were: Jimmie Johnson, Ricky Benton Racing, Ellen Siska and Tony Stewart.
Photo: Stephanie McLaughlin

Read more here: http://www.sunherald.com/2012/08/28/4150446/spirit-award-salutes-hillenburg.html#storylink=cpy

No comments:

Post a Comment