Thursday, December 11, 2014

Scott, Ganassi Pair For 2015 XFINITY Series Effort

Chip Ganassi and Harry Scott, Jr. announced today that they have joined forces to field a single-car NASCAR Xfinity Series entry for the 2015 season.  The entry will be run out of the Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates shop in Concord, NC and will race under the name HScott Motorsports with Chip Ganassi.
The team’s No. 42 Chevrolet Camaro entry will feature a driver line-up that includes 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Rookie of the Year Kyle Larson, along with 2014 NASCAR Xfinity Series rookie Dylan Kwasniewski. Mike Shiplett, a former crew chief and car chief with Richard Petty Motorsports, Turner Scott Motorsports and Gillett Evernham Motorsports has been tabbed as crew chief. 
“The HScott Motorsports with Chip Ganassi partnership formalizes a relationship that has been in the making for a couple of years,” said Scott today. “This is a first step of a partnership that will further develop drivers and provide even more excitement in the NASCAR Xfinity Series.”
“We have had a great relationship with Harry over the past couple of years,” said Ganassi. “And bringing this program into our shop is something that we feel benefits both teams. We feel that our expertise -- on both the competition and the business side -- can help grow the program, both on and off the track.” 
Chip Ganassi Racing has been a fixture in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series for many years, and the organization also fielded NXS teams from 2004 to 2008.  Over those five years, the team won six races and amassed 32 top-five and 60 top-10 finishes, along with nine pole awards.

In two seasons fielding drivers in NASCAR’s secondary circuit, Scott and his teams have served as a proving ground for talented young drivers. TSM has fielded nine drivers and in 173 races, with two wins, 30 top-five and 65 top-10 finishes. Both wins came during the 2014 season with Larson behind the wheel. Larson also won the 2013 NXS Rookie of the Year award, with Kwasniewski bringing home both the 2013 NASCAR K&N Pro Series East and 2012 West Series championships; the only driver in NASCAR history to win both titles.

No comments:

Post a Comment