Wednesday, April 02, 2014

Fan Vote Opens For 2015‏ NASCAR Hall of Fame Class

They’ve helped Richard Petty, Dale Earnhardt and David Pearson reach the pinnacle of their NASCAR career, and today fans can once again aid in ushering in a new group of legends into the NASCAR Hall of Fame. 
Fan voting for the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2015 opens today on ( and runs through Tuesday, May 20 at noon ET. The five nominees receiving the highest percentage of votes will comprise the Fan Vote ballot. This ballot will be included among the 54 submitted by the NASCAR Hall of Fame Voting Panel to determine the Class of 2015. Voting Day for the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2015 is Wednesday, May 21, 2014.  
“The NASCAR Hall of Fame is the only hall of its kind where fans have had a voice in the induction process since its inception,” said Brett Jewkes, NASCAR chief communications officer. “And the reason is simple. NASCAR fans are extremely passionate and knowledgeable about the sport and its history, and have demonstrated that with their selections for the first five classes.” 
Last year, Richard Childress, Rick Hendrick, Dale Jarrett, Benny Parsons and Fireball Roberts were on the Fan Vote ballot. Jarrett and Roberts were enshrined as part of the Class of 2014. 
The following 20 nominees were voted upon by the 22-person Nominating Committee at its first-ever in-person meeting Feb. 21, and will appear on the Fan Vote ballot on
Buddy Baker, won 19 times in NASCAR’s premier (now Sprint Cup) series, including the Daytona 500 and Southern 500.
Red Byron, first NASCAR premier series champion, in 1949.  
Richard Childress, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series. 
Jerry Cook, six-time NASCAR Modified champion. 
Bill Elliott, 1988 premier series champion, two-time Daytona 500 winner and 16-time Most Popular Driver. 
Ray Fox, legendary engine builder and owner of cars driven by Buck Baker, Junior Johnson and others. 
Rick Hendrick, 14-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series. 
Bobby Isaac, 1970 NASCAR premier series champion. 
Terry Labonte, Two-time NASCAR premier series champion. 
Fred Lorenzen, 26 wins and winner of the Daytona 500 and World 600. 
Raymond Parks, NASCAR’s first champion car owner. 
Benny Parsons, 1973 NASCAR premier series champion. 
Larry Phillips, only five-time NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national champion. 
Wendell Scott, NASCAR trailblazer was the first African-American NASCAR premier series race winner, and first to be nominated for induction into the NASCAR Hall of Fame. 
O. Bruton Smith, builder of Charlotte Motor Speedway and architect of Speedway Motorsports Inc. 
Mike Stefanik, winner of record-tying nine NASCAR championships. 
Curtis Turner, early personality, called the "Babe Ruth of stock car racing." 
Joe Weatherly, two-time NASCAR premier series champion. 
Rex White, 1960 NASCAR premier series champion. 

Robert Yates, won NASCAR premier series championship as both an engine builder and owner.

1 comment:

  1. Dave this is a tough class but Wendell Scott goes in this year along with terry and bruton