Friday, July 13, 2012

Bodine Set For 200th Truck Start at Chicagoland

Bodine is nearing a milestone
Todd Bodine will reach a major milestone next weekend at Chicagoland Speedway in Joliet, Illinois, when he makes his 200th career NASCAR Camping World Truck Series start

When Bodine takes the green flag to start the race, he will become the first driver in NASCAR history to record 200 starts in each of NASCAR's three national touring series. Along with his 200 starts in the Camping World Truck Series, Bodine has 325 Nationwide Series starts and 241 Sprint Cup Series races.  The Chemung, N.Y. native made his first appearance in a NASCAR National Touring Series in 1986, when he took the green flag in what is now the NASCAR Nationwide Series at Martinsville Speedway, finishing 27th for legendary car owner “Tiger Tom” Pistone. 

He has been a regular in the NCWTS since 2004, recording 22 victories, 90 Top-5 and 121 Top-10 results, along with seven poles. He also claimed a pair of NCWTS driver's championships, in 2006 and 2010.  All but seven of his 198 career Truck starts have been in a Toyota.    

Bodine drives the No. 11 Red Horse Racing Tundra in this, his eighth full season in NASCAR Camping World Truck Series competition. The 48-year old New York native has 22 career Truck Series wins, 90 Top-5 and 121 Top-10 finishes in 198 career series starts. He has already been to Victory Lane this season, winning on the Monster Mile at Dover International Speedway, and has three Top-5 and four Top-10 finishes in the first eight races. He is currently 12th in championship points,  78 behind leader Timothy Peters. 

Bodine will become the first driver in NASCAR history to make 200 starts in each of the sanctioning body’s National Series; Sprint Cup, Nationwide and Camping World Trucks. He ranks 20th in all-time career starts , trailing seven-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Dale Earnhardt by just 48 starts. 

1.     Richard Petty -- 1,185 starts
2.     Mark Martin -- 1,103 starts
3.     Michael Waltrip -- 1,057 starts
4.     Terry Labonte -- 1,007 starts
5.     Dale Jarrett -- 997 starts
6.     Joe Nemechek -- 984 starts
7.     Ken Schrader -- 961 starts
8.     Jeff Burton -- 947 starts
9.     Darrell Waltrip -- 921 starts
10.  Ricky Rudd -- 909 starts
11.  Morgan Shepherd -- 903 starts
12.  Dave Marcis -- 888 starts
13.  Kenny Wallace -- 885 starts
14.  Kyle Petty -- 885 starts
15.  Bobby Labonte -- 884 starts
16.  Bill Elliott -- 873 starts
17.  Sterling Marlin -- 825 starts
18.  Kevin Harvick -- 815 starts
19.  Dale Earnhardt -- 812 starts
20.  Todd Bodine -- 764 starts

No comments:

Post a Comment