Friday, February 24, 2012

Motor Racing Network Gears Up For Daytona 500

Motor Racing Network – “The Voice of NASCAR” – will hit the airwaves with 467 affiliate radio stations available to race fans throughout North America for Sunday’s 54th running of the Daytona 500.

The 2012 network lineup features a number of new stations from Northern Canada to South Florida and includes KLAA/Angels Radio in Los Angeles; ESPN Radio-AM 770 in Fort Myers, Fla.; 104.5-FM/The Zone in Nashville, Tenn.; and FM-103.5 in Iqaluit, which is located in the Canadian territory of Nunavut. Other new markets include Salt Lake City; Sacramento and Victor Valley, Calif.; Columbus, Ind.; Fargo, N.D.; Sioux Falls, S.D.; and Anchorage, Alaska.

Earlier this year, Motor Racing Network announced the addition of WZGV-ESPN 730 in Charlotte, N.C.; which will broadcast MRN’s complete 2012 schedule of Sprint Cup, Nationwide and Camping World Truck Series races.

“The expansion of our 2012 affiliate lineup is a reflection of the ever-growing NASCAR fan base, which can count on Motor Racing Network for comprehensive, compelling coverage of the sport,” said MRN President and Executive Producer David Hyatt. “In addition to that network of affiliates, which is the foundation of our efforts, Daytona 500 coverage will feature additional distribution sources including live streaming at individual stations’ websites, at, and on Sirius XM Satellite Radio.”

The 467 affiliated radio stations carrying Sunday’s MRN coverage of the Daytona 500 represent 49 states and Canada, with a Spanish language broadcast on ESPN Deportes. In addition, American Forces Radio will bring the race to more than one million men and women in the United States military stationed around the world.

Sunday’s Daytona 500 will cap nine straight days of Speedweeks coverage from Daytona International Speedway that began with the Feb. 18 Budweiser Shootout, and includes season-opening races Friday in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and Saturday for the Nationwide Series.

Sunday’s MRN broadcast of the Daytona 500 will be anchored by Joe Moore and Eli Gold. Air time is 12 p.m. (EST). Trevor Bayne is the defending race winner. 2011 championship runner-up Carl Edwards will start this year’s race from the pole position, two spots in front of reigning Cup Series champion Tony Stewart.


  1. Anonymous8:13 PM

    Where is Barney Hall?

  2. Sad to hear that Barney Hall, Ken Squier,and Ned Jarrett are not a part of Speedweeks this year.I wish them well.The MRN crew has always been the best in telling the story of each race.I enjoy the classic races on their website as well.