Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Red Horse Racing Enjoying Best Season Yet

It’s been a storybook season for Red Horse Racing. Four different drivers – Todd Bodine, John King, Parker Kligerman and Timothy Peters – have climbed behind the wheel of the organization’s Toyota Tundras in 2012, and with Kligerman’s drought-busting victory at Talladega Superspeedway Saturday, all four have now visited Victory Lane.

Red Horse is not the first team to send four different drivers to Victory Lane in the same season. Kevin Harvick, Inc. turned the trick in both 2010 and 2011, fielding entries for six and nine different drivers, respectively. But never in NASCAR Camping World Truck Series history has a team gone four-for-four.
Red Horse co-owner Tom DeLoach calls the 2012 season “magic;” pointing to the team’s most successful chassis, which has won twice at Daytona with King and Peters aboard, and again Saturday with Kligerman at the controls.
King won for RHR at Daytona
“We've got five wins among four drivers, so it's pretty special that everybody who comes here wins,” said DeLoach, who shares ownership of the team with former NASCAR Sprint Cup Series crew chief Jeff Hammond. The team, which made its 300th start at Talladega, also has won with Brandon Whitt and David Starr, with 10 victories overall.
Red Horse is in the running for both the driver and owner championships this season; the first in team history. Peters, a two-time winner in 2012, is currently third in the title chase, 26 points behind leader Ty Dillon. Red Horse’s No. 17 Toyota trails the No. 3 Richard Childress Chevrolet by a similar margin on the owners’ side.
Connecticut’s Kligerman, who snapped a string of five second-place finishes, is 34 points back in fourth.

1 comment:

  1. Anonymous8:01 PM

    never knew hammond owned part of red horse