Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Newman Named NMPA Spirit Award Winner

Members of the National Motorsports Press Association have selected NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Ryan Newman as the fourth quarter winner of the NMPA Speedway Motorsports Spirit Award.  

The award is designed to recognize character and achievement in the face of adversity, sportsmanship and contributions to motorsports. Each year, quarterly winners are selected, and an overall winner is determined by a vote of the National Motorsports Press Association membership.
Newman was recognized for hosting the 8th Annual Charity Dinner and Auction and annual fishing tournament in December, raising funds for animal welfare, education and conservation efforts. The evening featured entertainment from Nashville singer/songwriters and NASCAR drivers and raised more than $340,000. Newman helped raise awareness of a memorial fund after crewman Andy Rueger lost his son in an ATV accident on Nov. 22.
Clint Bowyer, Rockingham Speedway President Andy Hillenburg and Brad Keselowski are also quarterly winners this year. The 2012 winner will be announced on Jan. 20.
Also receiving votes were: Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, Kurt Busch, Texas Motor Speedway and Martin Truex Jr.

No comments:

Post a Comment