Saturday, July 27, 2013

Kyle Spanks Field In Dominant Indy Win

Started first, finished first.
Kyle Busch took the field to the woodshed Saturday, leading 92 of 100 laps from the pole position to win the Indiana 250 NASCAAR Nationwide Series race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. 

It was Busch’s 59th career Nationwide Series, his 16th win from the pole (most all-time) and his fifth win from the pole this season, the most in the history of the division.

While Busch was in control for a majority of the event, he nearly saw victory slip from the his grasp in the late going when contact with Joey Logano allowed Brian Scott to slip past and take the lead with just five laps remaining. Busch rallied quickly, however, powering past Scott and pulling away over the final three circuits to take the checkered flag by a comfortable margin.

Scott finished second, his best Nationwide Series finish in 128 career starts, followed by Logano, Brian Vickers and Kevin Harvick.  Paul Menard, Matt Kenseth, Kevin Swindell, Michael Annett and Travis Pastrana completed the Top-10. Vickers claimed the $100,000 Nationwide Dash 4 Cash bonus with his third Top-5 finish in the last three races.


Point leader Sam Hornish, Jr. had a rough day, losing an engine after experiencing overheating issues en route to a 34th-place finish, matching his worst result of the 2013 season. Despite a lukewarm 12th-place showing, Austin Dillon assumes the championship points lead by six over Regan Smith.


  1. Anonymous12:20 PM

    Looks like Logano can only win a Nationwide race when the other Cup guys stay home!!!

  2. Michael in SoCal10:36 AM


  3. Just another god awful boring follow the leader NASCAR race they should just go back to racing taxi cabs these new cars are junk