Saturday, June 15, 2013

Edwards Sizzles In Michigan Pole Run

Carl Edwards made it clear that Michigan International Speedway is still “home court” for Roush Fenway Racing Friday, winning the pole for Sunday’s “Quicken Loans 400” NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race with · a fast lap in 35.564 seconds, at 202.452 mph. 

It was Edwards’ 12th career Sprint Cup pole in 316 starts and his first since Daytona in Feb. of 2012, a span of 49 starts. For Roush Fenway Racing, it was their 85th pole all-time and their third at MIS, and Edwards said his performance was a sign that RFR is turning the courner after a disappointing start to the 2013 season.

“The process that is going to put us out in front of Hendrick Motorsports, Joe Gibbs Racing and the rest of these guys every Sunday is just starting. We can use positive things like this pole position and hopefully a win… to move forward and gain faith in a better process. I think that is going to be great. The engine is a big part of it and today.
“The engine group came through huge.”
Kurt Busch qualified on the outside pole for Sunday’s race, his fourth front-row start of 2013 including three of the last four races. Kasey Kahne was third, followed by Paul Menard and Aric Almirola. Joey Logano, Austin Dillon, Matt Kenseth, Kyle Busch and Juan Pablo Montoya comleted the Top-10. 

The top 13 drivers all exceeded 200 mph in qualifying, but Edwards said he does not expect similarly high speeds on race day.

“This new car is so fast here and has so much grip,” he said. “When you pull the tape off, you have to really make the car work. Having that tape on there with all that downforce can make the car feel really good and make it go for a lap, but it will be a tough race. The race will be different and hopefully we can master that whole problem and go to Victory Lane. That would be huge.”
A total of 44 drivers took time Friday, with Scott Riggs failing to make the race in the Xxxtreme Motorsports Ford. 

POS # Driver
1 99 Carl Edwards
2 78 Kurt Busch
3 5 Kasey Kahne
4 27 Paul Menard
5 43 Aric Almirola
6 22 Joey Logano
7 33 Austin Dillon
8 20 Matt Kenseth
9 18 Kyle Busch
10 42 Juan Pablo Montoya
11 11 Denny Hamlin
12 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr.
13 56 Martin Truex Jr.
14 14 Tony Stewart
15 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. #
16 2 Brad Keselowski
17 48 Jimmie Johnson
18 31 Jeff Burton
19 16 Greg Biffle
20 51 Bobby Labonte
21 29 Kevin Harvick
22 55 Mark Martin
23 9 Marcos Ambrose
24 13 Casey Mears
25 21 Trevor Bayne
26 38 David Gilliland
27 15 Clint Bowyer
28 1 Jamie McMurray
29 24 Jeff Gordon
30 98 Michael McDowell
31 34 David Ragan
32 47 AJ Allmendinger
33 83 David Reutimann
34 30 David Stremme
35 39 Ryan Newman
36 7 Dave Blaney
37 10 Danica Patrick #
38 35 Josh Wise
39 32 Ken Schrader
40 36 JJ Yeley
41 93 Travis Kvapil
42 87 Joe Nemechek
43 19 Mike Bliss
44 44 Scott Riggs

No comments:

Post a Comment