Wednesday, May 08, 2013

Penske Announces Darlington/Charlotte Roster Changes

In the aftermath of the penalties announced by NASCAR regarding the No. 2 and 22 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series teams, Penske Racing has made the following roster adjustments for the Darlington and Charlotte races. The changes are as follows:

Team Manager: Currently Vice President of Operations Mike Nelson will fill this role.
No. 2 Miller Lite Ford Fusion:

Crew Chief: Kevin Buskirk. A former driver and crew chief, Buskirk joined Penske racing prior to the 2012 season. He currently manages the test teams for Penske Racing.
Race Engineer: Jonathan Hassler. He served as the lead engineer for the No. 22 Sprint Cup Series team last season and helped the No. 22 Nationwide Series team earn six victories in 2011.

Car Chief: Nick Hensley. Hensley has worked with Penske Racing since 2007 and has worked with the No. 2 team since the 2011 season.
No. 22 Shell Pennzoil Ford Fusion:

Crew Chief: Steve Reis. A team engineer, Reis has been with Penske Racing since 2009 and has been with the No. 22 team since 2011. Before that, he served as the race engineer on the No. 77 Penske Racing Sprint Cup team
Race Engineer: Ben Atkins. Atkins is an engineer with Penske Racing and worked with Todd Gordon during the 2011 season.

Car Chief: Jeffery Thousand.  Thousand, who has been with Penske Racing for nearly 20 years, served as the car chief for the No. 22 last season.

Greg Erwin, Sam Hornish Jr.’s crew chief in the NASCAR Nationwide Series, will sit atop the pit box on race day for the Shell-Pennzoil team, as a race strategist. Erwin will continue in his role as Hornish’ s crew chief in the Nationwide Series.

1 comment:

  1. And you just know that the Penske organization will be looking at how these people fulfill their roles with a view to the future.