Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Voting Now Open For Sprint All Star Race

Race fans can now begin casting ballots for their favorite Sprint Fan Vote eligible driver in the hope of seeing him (or her) take part in the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race on Saturday, May 18 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Voting begins today and ends at 5 p.m. ET on the day of the race.

Fans can vote an unlimited number of times between March 20 and May 18 by downloading the NASCAR Mobile ’13 application or visiting Votes cast on NASCAR Mobile ’13 will count twice towards a driver’s total. The driver receiving the highest number of votes will earn a spot in the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race, which airs live on SPEED at 7:30 p.m. ET. Radio coverage on the Motor Racing Network and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio begins at 6:30 p.m. ET.
In 2008, Kasey Kahne became the first and only driver to win the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race after being voted into the event via the Sprint Fan Vote. Other winners of the Sprint Fan Vote include: Ken Schrader (2004), Martin Truex Jr. (2005), Kyle Petty (2006), Kenny Wallace (2007), Joey Logano (2009), Carl Edwards (2010), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2011) and Bobby Labonte (2012).
To date, 26 drivers are eligible for the 2013 Sprint Fan Vote including Sunoco Rookie of the Year candidates Danica Patrick and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. To be eligible for the Sprint Fan Vote, drivers must have finished in the top 55 of the final 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver points standings or attempted to qualify for the 2013 Daytona 500. Any eligible Sprint Fan Vote candidate who wins a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race during the 2013 season will automatically gain entry into the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race. Subsequently, the driver’s name will be removed from the Sprint Fan Vote ballot and their accumulated votes will be voided.
In addition to accumulating the most votes, a Sprint Fan Vote-eligible driver must also finish the Sprint Showdown qualifying race on the lead lap with a car in “raceable” condition (as determined by NASCAR Competition) to earn a spot in the race field.
Tickets for the entire NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race weekend are on sale now. Packages start at just $99 for all weekend events including scanner rental. To purchase tickets, call 1-800-455-FANS (3267) or visit
Drivers eligible for the Sprint Fan Vote (in alphabetical order) include:
A.J. Allmendinger
Aric Almirola
Dave Blaney
Mike Bliss
Jeff Burton
Landon Cassill
Bill Elliott
David Gilliland
Travis Kvapil
Bobby Labonte
Terry Labonte
Michael McDowell
Jamie McMurray
Casey Mears
Paul Menard
Juan Pablo Montoya
Danica Patrick
David Ragan
David Reutimann
Scott Speed
Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
David Stremme
Martin Truex Jr.
Michael Waltrip
Josh Wise
JJ Yeley

1 comment:

  1. Anonymous12:38 AM

    Hmm. They are good canidates. Any chance we can still put in a vote for dale jr??? Is there a seperate place where we can vote for him? Didn't see him on the list.